The success of FCM's international programming lies with its focus on local government development cooperation. Through FCM International, local governments are improving the way they deliver services, to the great benefit of men, women and children.

The Pam McConnell award is given to a municipal expert, elected or non-elected, contributing to the advancement and promotion of gender equality in FCM’s programs. 

The awards for Outstanding Institutional Contribution to FCM International programs recognize Canadian local governments and local government associations that have demonstrated exceptional commitment and leadership in the scope of their participation in FCM's international programs. The projects in which they participated distinguished themselves in terms of innovation, support from their council or board, and their lasting impact in their partner community.

The Mike Badham Award is given to an individual whose contribution to FCM International has gone above and beyond in terms of innovation, creativity, engagement and leadership. This award was named after the late Mike Badham, former president of the Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities' Association, in recognition of the leadership and dedication he brought to FCM's international programs from 1996 until his untimely death in January 2006.

Past Recipients

Pam McConnell Award for Gender Equality in International Development

2019: Joan Westland, Mayor of Ville de Bolton-Est, QC

2018: Debra Button, Mayor of Weyburn, SK

FCMI Award for Outstanding Contribution to International Programs (Institutional)

2019: District of Elkford, BC

2018: Fort St John, BC 

2017: Town of Truro, NS, and Municipality of Red Lake, ON

2016: MRC d’Argenteuil, QC

2015: Town of Beaumont, AB, and MRC de la Matawinie, QC

2014: Capital Regional District, BC, and City of London, ON

2013: Union of British Columbia Municipalities and Municipality of the County of Kings, NS

Mike Badham Award — Outstanding individual contribution to FCMI programs

2019: Michel Pinault, Town of Granby, QC

2018: Kent McMullin, City of Edmonton, AB

2017: Karim Charef, City of Montreal, QC

2016: Philip Powell, City of Ottawa, ON

2015: Gary MacIsaac, Union of British Columbia Municipalities

2014: Margot Begin-Gillis, City of Truro, NS

2013: Roger MacIsaac, Town of Amherst, NS

© 2024 Federation of Canadian Municipalities