The Board of Directors sets policy priorities that reflect the concerns of municipal governments and affiliate members. It meets quarterly to develop policy positions on key national municipal issues.

During the quarterly meetings, the various standing committees meet to discuss and develop policy positions on these key issues. These recommendations are then forwarded to the Board of Directors who discuss and adopt the recommendations.

All positions on FCM's  Board of Directors are filled by election on an annual basis, with the exception of those designated for affiliate members and the immediate past president, as outlined in the FCM by-laws, during the Annual Conference.

The president, first vice-president, second vice-president and third vice-president are elected at large. The position of immediate past president is an automatic succession.

FCM's Annual Conference provides member delegates the opportunity to debate and vote on policy matters for the coming year.

Table Officers

FCM President

Geoff Stewart

FCM President Geoff Stewart is the Deputy Mayor of the Municipality of the County of Colchester, Nova Scotia. He is currently serving his second term as deputy mayor, and his third term on council. He’s also a former president of the Nova Scotia Federation of Municipalities.


FCM First Vice-President

Rebecca Bligh
First Vice-President

FCM First Vice-President Rebecca Bligh was first elected to Vancouver City Council in 2018. Rebecca is a strong voice for accountability and fiscal responsibility and she has served on FCM’s Board of Directors since 2018.


Second Vice-President

Tim Tierney
Second Vice-President

FCM Second Vice-President Tim Tierney was first elected to Ottawa City Council in 2010 and since then has continued to support his community through many successful events, projects, and initiatives.


Third Vice-President

Kathy Valentino
Third Vice-President

FCM Third Vice-President Kathy Valentino is the Deputy Mayor, City of Thompson, MB. She is also Vice-President for the Association of Manitoba Municipalities, which represents 137 municipalities across the province.

Past President

Scott Pearce
Past President

FCM Past President Scott Pearce is the Mayor of the Township of Gore, first elected in November 2004. He has also been the Warden of the RCM Argenteuil since 2014—and a member of FCM’s Board of Directors since 2009.


Upcoming conferences

Annual Conference and Trade Show

May 28-June 1, 2025
Ottawa, ON

Board of Directors meetings

September 17-19, 2024 (Ottawa, Ontario)

December 2-6 2024
Advocacy Days and Board Meeting
Ottawa, ON
(Exact dates to be confirmed)

© 2024 Federation of Canadian Municipalities