Don't have an account? Create one now

FCM announces recipients of 2014 awards of excellence (02/06/2014)

NIAGARA REGION, ON - The Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) announced its 2014 Awards of Excellence during FCM's Annual Conference and Trade Show in Niagara Region. The awards recognize outstanding contributions on the part of individuals, municipal associations and local governments.

Roll of Honour Awards

These awards pays tribute to FCM officers, and to officials of member municipalities and municipal associations who have made an outstanding contribution to FCM and to municipal government in Canada.

  • Graham Letto: Mr. Letto has made significant contributions to municipal governments, having served on the Town Council for Labrador City for 20 years, including two years as mayor.  He was instrumental in bringing 911 emergency service to Labrador West and a tireless leader in moving towards developing transportation infrastructure as well as serving as a longstanding board member of the Combined Councils of Labrador. 
  • Colette Roy-Laroche: Mme Roy-Laroche has exhibited exceptional leadership and resilience in the wake of the tragic train derailment and explosion that affected her community in July 2013. She continues to demonstrate extraordinary dedication and commitment to her community through its recovery and rebuilding efforts. She has been the mairesse since 2002 and also has long history of dedicated service on the Board of Directors of the Union des Municipalités du Québec (UMQ).

Ann MacLean Award for Outstanding Service by a Woman in Municipal Politics

This award recognizes retired women municipal politicians who have shown exemplary service to their community and constituents and to mentoring women who want to run for elected office. It is named in honour of FCM Past President Ann MacLean, who led FCM´s campaign to increase the number of women in municipal politics across Canada.

  • Suzanne (Shannie) Duff: Shannie Duff was first elected to the St. John's Municipal Council in 1977 and during more than three decades, she has been a champion of urban planning, heritage conservation, affordable housing, parks and recreation, the environment and the role of municipalities in support of the arts. In 2003, she was awarded an Order of Canada for all of her tireless work.

Awards of Excellence for Outstanding Contribution to International Programs

These awards recognize municipalities, local government associations or individuals that demonstrate exceptional innovation and leadership in their participation in FCM's international programs. Each year, FCM mobilizes Canadian municipalities and municipal experts to work with communities around the world to help them deliver basic services, promote economic growth and encourage citizen participation.

Mike Badham Award for Outstanding Contribution to International Programs (Individual)

  • Margot Begin-Gillis: Begin-Gillis, formerly of the Colchester Regional Development Agency, has been actively involved in both the Municipal Partners for Economic Development program (MPED) in Bolivia and the CARILED, participating as a technical advisor and Local Program Coordinator on behalf of the municipality of Truro.

Award for Outstanding Contribution to International Programs (Institutional)

  • Capital Regional District (CRD), British Columbia: The CRD first did work in China (Migrants Labour Rights Program), then with Suhum Kraboa Coaltar District Assembly and the City of Ho, both in Ghana and finally now with the Region of Morogoro in Tanzania, where CRD is implementing the RIVERS program (Regionally Integrated Visions for Economic Revitalization and Sustainability).
  • City of London, Ontario: London has done great work with FCM's Ukraine Municipal Local Economic Development program (MLED) and with the Caribbean Local Economic Development program (CARILED).

Green Champion Awards

These awards recognize a municipality, association or individual that demonstrated outstanding leadership and a commitment to implementing sustainable development initiatives in their community.

Green Champion Award (Individual)

  • Alan DeSousa, Mayor of St-Laurent Borough, Montreal, Québec: With almost 25 years of service as an elected official, DeSousa is a true champion of sustainability. Mayor since 2002, he has led several local sustainability projects including playing a key role in extending recycling collection to all residential buildings, implementing sustainable parking lot regulations and developing the "Mon école écolo" (Greening My School) program. Saint-Laurent was also the first municipal government in Québec to achieve ISO 14001 certification.

Green Champion Award (Municipality)

  • City of Vancouver, British Columbia: Vancouver has long been recognized as an international leader in municipal sustainability. Its Greenest City 2020 Action Plan establishes the goal of becoming the greenest city in the world by 2020, and won the 2014 Best Overall Policy in Global Leadership Award from the World Green Building Council. It's also been a member of the Partners for Climate Protection programs since 1995 and has achieved all five milestones for both corporate and community GHG emission reductions.
Page Updated: 05/10/2017