Don't have an account? Create one now

Ann MacLean Award

The Ann MacLean Award for Outstanding Service by a Woman in Municipal Politics recognizes retired women municipal politicians who have shown exemplary service to their community and constituents and to mentoring women who want to run for elected office. It is named in honour of FCM Past President, Ann MacLean, who led FCM´s campaign to increase the number of women in municipal politics across Canada.

The recipient is chosen by the FCM Board of Directors and is presented with the award at our Annual Conference. Take a look at our past recipients.

2018 Recipient—Margaret Tardif, Town of Falher, AB

Ann McLean Award This year's recipient, Margaret Tardif (second from right), is handed the Award by Darren Hill and Chris Fonseca of FCM's Women Committee, then-President Jenny Gerbasi, and Ann MacLean.

This year's Ann MacLean Award winner is former mayor of the Town of Falher, AB, Margaret Tardif.

Margaret was first elected as a councillor in 1977. Five years later, she was elected as Falher's Mayor and remained in that position for more than 30 years-13 of which she was the only woman on council. While she retired in 2013, Margaret continues to be a well of wisdom for Falher's Council and the mayor.

Even though she was raised by an English-speaking family, Margaret learned French and became a strong advocate for Falher's French community. In 1996, she helped her community become recognized as one of only three officially bilingual communities in Alberta at the time.

Throughout her career, Margaret was a trail blazer and a champion for women in local government. Her strong commitment to mentoring other women and championing civic engagement inspired many. She made it her mission to encourage residents to get involved in their community.

Page Updated: 22/06/2018