Don't have an account? Create one now

Jenny Gerbasi, FCM Past-President

Jenny Gerbassi

Jenny Gerbasi was first elected to Winnipeg City Council in 1998. As a leader on council for nearly 20 years, she has championed everything from public transit and community safety to accessibility for people with disabilities. For her work on council, she was nominated for a YMCA Woman of Distinction Award in 2011. Today she proudly serves as Deputy Mayor.  

In 2007, Councillor Gerbasi was elected to FCM's Board of Directors. She has served as Chair of the Prairies & Territories Regional Caucus and on the FCM Executive Committee since 2010. She has also served as Chair of Community Safety and Crime Prevention and participated in numerous other FCM committees.

This broad experience has shown Councillor Gerbasi the collective strength of the municipal voice, as well as the nation-building expertise of Canada's cities and communities - urban centres, rural towns as well as northern and remote regions. In 2012, Councillor Gerbasi was awarded the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal for her work on the FCM Board.  

Councillor Gerbasi is a passionate volunteer. She devotes her time to the Winnipeg Folk Festival, Habitat for Humanity Muddy Waters Ride, and the annual CEO Sleepout to support employment programs for the homeless. Before entering politics, she worked as a nurse with the Victorian Order of Nurses.

Page Updated: 04/06/2018