Don't have an account? Create one now

Board of Directors

2016 Board of Directors

FCM's Board of Directors comprises elected municipal officials and affiliate members from all regions and various-sized communities throughout Canada. It forms a broad base of support and carries the municipal message to the Government of Canada.

The Board of Directors sets policy priorities that reflect the concerns of municipal governments and affiliate members. It meets quarterly to develop policy positions on key national municipal issues.

During the quarterly meetings, the various standing committees meet to discuss and develop policy positions on these key issues. These recommendations are then forwarded to the Board of Directors who discuss and adopt the recommendations.

All positions on FCM's  Board of Directors are filled by election on an annual basis, with the exception of those designated for affiliate members and the immediate past president, as outlined in the FCM by-laws, during the Annual Conference.

The president, first vice-president, second vice-president and third vice-president are elected at large. The position of immediate past president is an automatic succession.

FCM's Annual Conference provides member delegates the opportunity to debate and vote on policy matters for the coming year. 

View the full list of Board Members

FCM Board of Directors 2016-2017

  • President


    Clark Somerville is a Local/Regional Councillor for the Town of Halton Hills and Halton Region, ON. He has served on council for more than 18 years.
  • First Vice-President

    First Vice-President

    Jenny Gerbasi is a councillor for the City of Winnipeg, MB.
  • Second Vice-President

    Second Vice-President

    Sylvie Goneau is a municipal councillor for the City of Gatineau, QC.
  • Third Vice-President

    Third Vice-President

    Bill Karsten is a councillor for the Regional Municipality of Halifax, NS.
  • Past-President


    First elected in 2002, Raymond Louie is now in his fifth term on Vancouver City Council and has been a member of the FCM Board of Directors since 2009.  
Page Updated: 19/04/2017