Don't have an account? Create one now

Roll of Honour

For the 32nd straight year, FCM is honouring the true difference-makers of local government with our Roll of Honour Awards. These awards pays tribute to FCM officers, and to officials of member municipalities and municipal associations who have made an outstanding contribution to FCM and to municipal government in Canada.

Current Recipients

Karen Leibovici

Karen Leibovici's first foray into politics, following a career in social work and labour relations, came in 1993 with her election to the Alberta Legislative Assembly as the representative for Edmonton-Meadowlark. She held her seat for two terms; serving as the party's labour critic, health critic, intergovernmental affairs critic and caucus whip. After her career in provincial politics she became a founding member and vice-president of the Alberta Association of Former MLAs.


Karen then served on Edmonton City Council from 2001 to 2014, during which time she participated on a number of city committees as chair of the Transportation and Public Works Committee; vice-chair of the Executive Committee; and chair of the Community Services Committee. She was also a member of the Edmonton Police Commission from 2006 to 2008.


Karen became FCM president in 2012. Her involvement with the Federation included: chair of the Standing Committee on Municipal Finance and Intergovernmental Arrangements; chair of the Prairies and Territories Regional Caucus; chair of the Green Municipal Fund Council; and chair of the committee that brought FCM's Annual Conference to Edmonton in 2004.


She has also taught at the University of Alberta and was chair of the Edmonton Stop Marijuana Grow Operation Coalition; an organization that received honourable mention in Alberta's 2008 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence.

Doug Reycraft

Throughout his career, Doug Reycraft has shown a deep commitment to the needs of Canadians. From his first election in 1970, he has dedicated over 40 years of public service, and has served his hometown of Glencoe, ON, in a variety of community groups.


In addition to his years as an educator, Doug's career involved 15 years in municipal government, election to Ontario's Legislative Assembly as representative from Middlesex from 1985 to 1990, and then a return to municipal government until December 2014.


Doug was a board and executive member of the Association of Ontario Municipalities (AMO) from 2003 until 2014, and served as the association's president from 2006 to 2008. As AMO president, he co-chaired the Provincial Municipal Fiscal and Services Delivery Review that resulted in the upload of social services and court security costs, valued at over $1.5 billion annually when fully phased in by 2018.


He was an FCM Board member from 2006 to 2014 and co-chaired FCM's National Municipal Rail Safety Working Group.


A retired teacher, Doug maintains a keen interest in education and is the founding chair of the Community Schools Alliance; an organization dedicated to greater collaboration between school boards and municipal councils.

Basil Stewart

Basil Stewart dedicated almost 45 years to the City of Summerside, PEI.  He served 15 years as a police officer for the former Town of Summerside, before becoming the town's mayor in 1985. He was elected mayor of the newly amalgamated City of Summerside in 1995 and served in that capacity until November 2014.


Under Basil's leadership, Summerside has benefited from achievements such as the establishment of a federal GST Centre; the former CFB Summerside's conversion into an aerospace centre; the construction of Credit Union Place, a recreation and wellness centre; a waterfront transformation that features a 7-kilometre boardwalk; reconstruction of the Summerside Raceway; and an award-winning Smart Grid Program.


As an FCM Board member Basil served on several committees, chaired the Atlantic Caucus in 1998 and 2011, and was elected President in 2009. He was also a member and chair of the Atlantic Mayors' Caucus; a member of the Federation of Prince Edward Island Municipalities; a Board member of Sustainable Municipal Infrastructure; a founding member of the Trans Canada Trail; and a member of the Prince County Family Services Bureau.


Throughout his career, Basil was involved with a number of community and service organizations. He was chosen Citizen of the Year for Summerside in 1989, and received the Canada 125 Medal in 1992.

Page Updated: 21/12/2015