Don't have an account? Create one now

FCM Sustainable Communities Awards

Celebrating sustainable community development

Best practices in sustainable community development are highlighted each year through the FCM Sustainable Communities Awards program, established in 2000. Truly sustainable projects take a holistic, integrated approach, where economic, social and environmental factors are inextricably linked. Sustainable communities can take many forms: large or small, urban or rural, central or remote. Their paths to sustainability are equally varied.

Awards are presented in six categories — planning, energy, transportation, waste, water and brownfields — and are open to all municipal governments and their private-sector partners. Winning communities and projects are recognized through case studies, videos and news releases, generating national and local media attention. 

Nominations for the 2016 awards are now closed. Winners will be announced in December 2015. Watch for a new a series of case studies on winning initiatives to be released in December, followed by a new set of videos and two dedicated webinars to showcase their achievements, scheduled for early 2016. And plan to meet the winners in person at the 2016 Sustainable Communities Conference in Ottawa, ON, February 9-11.

Featured award winners

  • 2015 Winners

    2015 Winners

    Check out our case studies and videos profiling the winning initiatives unveiled at FCM's 2015 Sustainable Communities Conference.
Page Updated: 26/10/2015